My name is Mr Fleming (jsf@beckfootthornton.org) and I am the Duke of Edinburgh manager here at Beckfoot Thornton.

What is the Duke of Edinburgh’s award?

The Duke of Edinburgh’s award is the world’s leading youth achievement award.  For the past seven decades, the charity has inspired and transformed the lives of millions of young people from all walks of life. From volunteering to physical activities, life skills to expeditions, achieving a DofE award is a passport to a brighter future, valued by employers and universities.  There are three levels of programme you can do which, when successfully completed, lead to a Bronze, Silver or Gold Duke of Edinburgh’s Award. The main differences between them are the minimum length of time they take to complete, how challenging they are and the minimum age you can start.

Which years can do this?

The Bronze award is for year 9, in which they have to be doing their activity sections for 3 months each with an additional 3 months in any section for an hour week in each section.  The Expedition is 2 days/ 1 night.

The Silver award is for years 10 and 12, where it takes 6 months to complete each section (1 hour per week per section) and the expedition is for 3 days/ 2 nights.

The expedition section is usually the most rewarding part of the award scheme, as pupils plan, lead and are responsible for themselves during this part.  They will undergo a training expedition and an assessed expedition.

More details can be found at www.dofe.org


Enrolment: £25 (goes direct to the charity)

Expedition: £10 per day (estimated)